Thai Turkey Burgers with Broccoli Slaw

Recently, I was introduced to Raptor Toe, a fun food blog in Google Reader.  Giving the author of the site full credit, she inspired me to make her Thai Turkey Burgers with Broccoli Slaw.

I admit that my husband and I are both ravenous gluttons for anything related to Thai food. Of course combining my favorite green vegetable, broccoli, and combining it with something as delicious as a burger, was in my humble opinion not only a home run, but also a grand slam.  The spiciness from the authentic Thai chili paste combined with the lime zest created a spicy tang that was addictive.

The breadcrumbs and egg help keep the turkey moist. My grill was temporarily out-of-order so I used a grill pan on the stove and it worked well. I even got the beautiful grill lines from the pan that gave it an even sear.  I did not have red curry powder available so I used spicy yellow curry and it was an acceptable substitute.

I would like to extend a thank you to Raptor Toe for posting this recipe!

Thai Turkey Burgers with Broccoli Slaw

By Raptor Toe

1/2 cup of breadcrumbs

1 egg

1 lb of ground turkey or chicken

1 carrot, shredded

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon ginger, grated

1 teaspoon chili paste

2 tablespoons cilantro, finely chopped

2 scallions, finely diced

juice of 1 lime

1 teaspoon of lime zest

1 teaspoon red curry powder

Salt and pepper

Preheat your grill to medium-high heat for 15 minutes.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix to combine. Form ground turkey mixture into patties (I got about 5 decent sized patties and one small one out of the lot).

Grill (flipping once for about 8 to 12 minutes, checking to make sure they are properly done before serving. Serve with broccoli slaw as a side or on top with toasted buns.

Broccoli slaw

1 bag broccoli slaw fixins

1/4 cup mayo

juice of 1 lime

bunch of cilantro

1 tablespoon chili paste

1 teaspoon of sesame oil

Salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix to coat. Cover with plastic wrap and let rest 20 minutes so that the flavors mingle before serving.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Awe! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! It looks beautiful in the picture 🙂

    Reply

  2. Thanks for the shout out!! I am going to have to try the burgers – they look delicious!

    Reply

  3. I love broccoli slaw – what a good addition!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

