Roasted Fennel, Rainbow Swiss Chard and Halibut

Last night I found myself browsing through the refrigerator in search of ingredients for dinner.  I was looking for inspiration.  My latest farmer’s market find of beautiful rainbow Swiss chard was speaking to me, crying imperiously to create a dish worthy of its fantastic flavor.  Suddenly a flash of creativity struck me like a lightening bolt.

I sliced yams ¼” thick on my mandolin, my favorite new kitchen gadget. I placed them in boiling water for approximately two minutes, just enough to soften the texture. I drained the yams, layering them in a small greased casserole dish. I followed this by a sprinkling of salt, pepper and smoky paprika. I layered thinly sliced roasted fennel, followed by Swiss chard cooked with minced garlic and olive oil. A dousing of freshly grated parmesan and manchego cheese finished this lovely dish. I baked it at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

I seasoned halibut with salt, pepper and paprika, followed by a healthy dousing of Pinot Grigio wine in a small casserole dish. I baked the halibut at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

I had recently purchased Italian cauliflower, vibrant purple in color, and I roasted it in the oven for 10 minutes.

The meal itself was healthy and delicious.  Moreover, I think I am getting better at my plating skills!

Roasted Fennel, Rainbow Swiss chard and Halibut

1 Large Garnet Yam, Sliced 1/4’” Thick

Salt

Pepper

Paprika

1 Fennel Bulb, thinly sliced, and roasted with olive oil, salt and pepper at 375 degrees for 15 minutes

Rainbow Swiss chard, chopped and sautéed with garlic (2 cloves, minced) and olive oil for approximately 5 minutes over medium heat.

¼ cup Parmesan cheese, freshly grated

1/8 cup Manchego cheese, freshly grated

Halibut seasoned with salt, pepper and paprika

½ cup Pinot Grigio

2 cups Italian Cauliflower

See instructions above and bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

