Salmon Potato Flatbread with Dill and Manchego

If you love salmon, you may often find yourself with a familiar dilemma: what do you make with leftovers?  If you simply warm leftover salmon in the microwave, you will find yourself with an unpleasant, overly cooked, strong oceanic flavor.

I spent the last day completely obsessing over my dilemma.  I had make two extra salmon fillets (approximately 3×5-1/2”) in anticipation that my 6’7” brother-in-law would be attending dinner.  Unfortunately, he had important plans that arose and could not attend my sumptuous meal.  Thus, two fillets went unwillingly in the leftover section of my refrigerator.  As I pondered over my dilemma, I began furiously searching for recipes but none caught my interest.

As I emptied the contents of my refrigerator and stared at the items, hoping they would magically speak to me, a unique recipe began to swirl like a violent twister in the depths of my mind.  When the twister finally ceased, I felt as though I woke up in a Technicolor world.

My first thought was using pizza dough as the medium, or canvas if you prefer.  I wanted this dish to be more casserole style so I put it in a rectangular dish.  I rolled the pizza dough very thin and tucked it gently inside the well-greased dish.  I brushed olive oil atop the dough to prevent sogginess.  Then I dug around in my pantry until I located my mandolin.  I sliced a small Yukon gold potato very thin, and lined the top of the dough with the paper-thin slices.  I then added a mixture of sour cream, fresh dill, Dijon, salt, and pepper.  The flaked salmon fillets went atop the dill sauce followed by a mixture of sharp cheddar cheese, manchego cheese, and fresh parsley.

While eating dinner my husband proclaimed that he thought my concoction would have tasted terrible, as leftover salmon usually does, but he was pleasantly surprised and proclaimed it a delicious way to make use of leftovers.

As after thoughts go, I think a hearty layer of arugula over the sour cream dill sauce would be delicious peppery addition.

Salmon Potato Flatbread with Dill and Manchego

1/6 recipe pizza dough

Olive Oil

1 small Yukon gold potato, sliced paper thin.

½ cup sour cream

2 tablespoons dill, chopped

1 teaspoon course ground Dijon mustard

1-1/2 teaspoons lemon juice

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

2 (approx. 3×5-1/2”) salmon fillets, precooked, flaked

1 cup sharp cheddar cheese

1 cup manchego cheese

2 tablespoons parsley, chopped

Grease a 9×5 pan and preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Roll out the dough and press gently into the dish, working the dough along the sides to maintain the shape of the rectangular pan.  Brush the dough with olive oil.  Place potato slices atop the dough, overlapping if necessary.

Mix sour cream, dill, Dijon, lemon juice, salt, pepper.

Spread mixture atop potatoes.  Spread salmon over the sour cream mixture.  Top with cheeses.  Bake for approximately 30 minutes, or until the dough has risen along the sides and is golden brown.  Top with parsley and serve.

Leave a Reply

