Spicy Gouda Pizza Northwest Style

This past Saturday morning I visited the Anacortes Farmer’s Market.  My favorite find of the day was Samish Bay Cheese’s Chili Chive Onion Gouda.  It is far spicier than pepper jack but has the luscious creamy texture that makes Gouda my all time favorite cheese.  I find it nearly impossible to pass up a new Gouda flavor.  I think Gouda either has a hypnotizing effect on me, or I have super human smell and the flavors carry me to the Gouda cheese stands.

Looking for innovative dinner ideas, I found myself analyzing and perusing the contents of my refrigerator and pantry.  I pulled the Chili Chive Onion Gouda from the vast cheese drawer in my refrigerator, placed in on the counter, and began staring at it quizzically, hoping for a lightening bolt of inspiration.  As luck and good fortune would have it, I think I was able to create a perfect dish for this spicy, unique cheese.

I decided on homemade pizza.  Homemade pizza dough is the canvas for a cook’s imagination, open to endless and limitless possibilities.

Spicy Gouda Pizza Northwest Style
Pizza dough (1/2 recipe)
Litehouse Jalapeno Ranch
1 tablespoon chili powder (to taste)
4 jalapenos, lightly sauteed in olive oil until just softened
1-1/2 cups mixed Mexican 4-cheese blend, shredded
1 cup Samish Bay Cheese Chili Chive Onion Gouda
½ cup Manchego cheese
¼ cup cilantro leaves, torn

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Roll out pizza dough to fit 13” pizza pan.  Brush pan with olive oil, fold extra dough under to form a crust.  Lightly drizzle and brush dough with olive oil.  This will help prevent the dough from becoming soggy.

Mix ranch and chili powder.  Using a spatula, spread an even layer of ranch across the dough.  Top with evenly distributed jalapenos, Mexican cheeses, and Gouda.  Bake for 25 minutes.  Once removed from oven, sprinkle Manchego and cilantro leaves on top.

Bow Things To Do on raveable

One response to this post.

  1. […] Spicy Gouda Pizza Northwest Style (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

