Seared Tuna with Lime Wasabi Vinaigrette

Last night I ventured into a realm that was previously unknown to me – fresh seared yellow fin tuna steak.  I have had tuna too many times to remember at restaurants in the past, but never had I dared to cook something so delicate at home.  With my creative juices flowing, I scoured the refrigerator for what would pair well with tuna’s delicate, rich flavor.  I created a visual masterpiece in my mind and set out to recreate that very vision on my canvas, my plate.

I decided a bed of peppery watercress would be the perfect bed for the sliced tuna.  I altered an Ina Garden recipe and created a wasabi lime vinaigrette that I lightly drizzled over the sliced, just seared but still rare in its sushi-like quality, tuna.  I whipped up Yukon gold wasabi mashed potatoes and cooked fresh corn on the cob, which I removed from the cob and quickly mixed with salt, pepper, and cayenne.

The meal itself was utterly amazing, and likely one of the best meals I have prepared at home.  Please do not be intimated by searing tuna steaks.  It is actually quite simple and now that I have ventured into the seared seafood steak realm, I will definitely be continuing my journey down this newfound path.

Seared Tuna Steak

Olive Oil

Salt

Pepper

Brush both sides of the tuna steak with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Over high heat in a sauté pan, sear the tuna for one minute, turn over, and sear for another minute.  Let rest on a cutting board for approximately 4 minutes.  Slice between ¼” to 1/3” against the grain.

Wasabi Mashed Potatoes

4 Yukon Gold Potatoes, Boiled, and Mashed

1/8 to ¼ cup half-and-half

2 tbsp. sour cream

1 tbsp. butter

2 tbsp. prepared wasabi (or to taste)

Salt

Pepper

Mix all ingredients together.  The wasabi, salt, and pepper may be done to taste.

Cayenne Peppered Corn

2 ears fresh corn

Cayenne

Salt

Pepper

Butter (Optional)

Bring a large pan of water to a rapid boil.  Boil corn for 2 minutes.  Remove, let cool for 3 minutes, and remove corn from cob.  Mix cayenne, salt, and pepper to taste.

Wasabi Lime Vinaigrette

Courtesy of Ina Garten, Tuna Salad

1-1/2 tbsp. olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground pepper

1 lime, zested

½ teaspoon wasabi powder

3 tablespoons lime juice (1-1/2 limes)

1 teaspoon soy sauce

5 dashes hot sauce

Whisk all ingredients together and carefully drizzle over seared, sliced tuna.

Related articles

4 responses to this post.

  1. Your food looks great it’s making me hungry!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Your meal looks great. The wasabi mashed potatoes sound great.

    Reply

    • I have adored mashed potatoes probably since I was a toddler. They have always been one of my absolute favorite foods. But as an adult I wanted to dress them up. I love horseradish white cheddar mashed potatoes and wasabi mashed potatoes (with the paste, not the powder). The flavor profiles are great.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

