Summer’s Perfect Companion: Broccoli Salad

This recipe is based on Paula Deen’s The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook.  I added a bit of Northwest flare to this southern dish, with the addition of dried cranberries, sunflower seeds., and moist golden raisins.  My husband prefers less cheese and tomatoes than the original recipe so I try to alter those ratios slightly.  I was recently told by someone that my broccoli salad looks  like the perfect Northwest trail-mix – colorful, lots of variety, a dash of red from the cranberries, the saltiness from the sunflower seeds, and the sweetness from the golden raisins.  I took that as a compliment.

I remember the first time I made this dish for a potluck, it apparently made such an impression that I keep getting requests not only for the recipe, but to make more!  I always consider that a good sign.  This salad keeps well in the refrigerator and doesn’t disappoint in the days to follow.  You’ll find yourself going back not just for seconds, but for thirds, too.

Broccoli Salad
Inspired by Paula Deen

1 head broccoli
8 slices cooked, country style bacon, crumbled
¼ cup raisins
¼ cup golden raisins
¼ cup dried cranberries
⅛ cup sunflower seeds
4 ounces extra sharp cheddar cheese, cut into very small pieces
1 cup mayonnaise
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
¼ cup sugar
½ cup halved cherry or grape tomatoes

Trim off large leaves of broccoli. Remove tough stalks at end and wash broccoli thoroughly. Cut flowerets and stems into bite-size pieces. Place in a large bowl. Add crumbled bacon, raisins, cranberries, sunflower seeds, and cheese. In a small bowl, combine remaining ingredients, stirring well. Add to broccoli mixture and toss gently.  Add tomatoes.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by savory2sweet on July 25, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Looks awesome! Thanks for linking to my blog! I am in the process of switching to the .com name I bought if you wouldn’t mind redirecting! My new blog is savorytosweet.com 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by linda carr on April 17, 2013 at 8:16 am

    thanks so much

    Reply

  3. My brother suggested I’d probably like this web website. He used to be entirely right. This publish actually made my day. You cann’t think just how a great deal time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

    Reply

  4. Some truly nice and utilitarian information on this web site, besides I conceive the style contains great features.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

