My Hubby’s Favorite, Beef Rendang

One of my husband’s favorite recipes is Cooking Light’s Beef Rendang.  I remember clearly when I received March 2010’s Cooking Light in the mail.  I earmarked this recipe because its long list of spices and flavors sounded exotic, intriguing, and delicious.  Prior to that time I had never had a traditional-type rendang.  Since then I have tried several different rendang recipes, but my husband always asks about this recipe in particular.  It imparts a deep, complex flavor that other recipes seem to be lacking.

Beef Rendang

We always buy a side of beef every two years.  Being a farm girl, I prefer beef that is finished on corn.  I know there is a huge debate between grass fed vs. corn fed and while I in no way intend to deviate on a side-bar tangent, I prefer purchasing beef from local farmers, where I know the steer had a happy life, and was finished on hay and corn the last month of his life.  The corn imparts a buttery, tender fat to the meat.

No matter what I tell the butcher, he always seems to give us chuck steak as part of our cutting order.  Usually I say a swear word or two while methodically organizing our freezer, but this recipe has given me cause for celebration.  Chuck steak used to be the ever leftover cut of beef in our freezer, but since trying this amazing recipe our remaining chuck steak has been earmarked for Beef Rendang.

I typically prefer a slightly spicier rendang.  I add an additional ½ tablespoon of chili garlic sauce and a total of three (3) serrano chiles.

Beef Rendang

by Cooking Light

1/2 cup chopped shallots
1/3 cup thinly sliced peeled ginger
1 1/2 tablespoons minced garlic (about 5 cloves)
2 tablespoons chili garlic sauce (such as Lee Kum Kee)
1 1/2 teaspoons ground turmeric
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
6 whole cloves
1 to 2 serrano chiles, chopped
1 (14-ounce) can light coconut milk, divided
2/3 cup flaked unsweetened coconut, toasted
1 teaspoon grated lime rind
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2 teaspoons sugar
2 (3-inch) fresh lemongrass stalks, crushed
2 pounds boneless chuck roast, trimmed and cut into 1-inch cubes
1 (14-ounce) can fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
4 cups hot cooked basmati rice

Place first 9 ingredients in a food processor or mini chopper. Add 1/4 cup coconut milk; process until smooth. Spoon mixture into a bowl; set aside.

Place 3 tablespoons coconut milk and flaked coconut in food processor; process until a smooth paste forms.

Heat a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add shallot mixture; cook 1 minute or until fragrant, stirring constantly. Stir in remaining coconut milk, rind, and next 5 ingredients (through broth); bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer 1 1/2 hours or until beef is tender, stirring occasionally. Discard lemongrass. Stir in flaked coconut mixture; simmer 10 minutes or until liquid almost evaporates. Serve over rice.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so happy that you did this recipe…it sounds so good. I’ll definitely be making it. By the way, I prefer corn fed beef also.

    Reply

    • My fellow corn fed beef lover! You will love this recipe. It’s delicious! If you don’t have time to wait 1-1/2 hours for the beef to simmer and become tender, I think a pressure cooker would work well too.:) My husband prefers jasmine rice while I prefer brown rice. I think the brown rice lends a nice nutty contrast to the spicy rendang.

      Reply

  2. […] My Hubby’s Favorite, Beef Rendang (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by mewithmycamera on July 26, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    sounds yummy, looking to do this one

    Reply

Leave a Reply

