A Trip Down Food Memory Lane

I thought I would share my top 10 childhood food memories.  This proves that having parents make their child be adventurous is something that makes a lifelong impression.

This post is dedicated to my mom.

1.  Cinnamon Toast and Tea – Before my brother was born my mom worked.  I missed her something dearly and I always treasured my time with her.  One of my absolute favorite memories is waking up early in the morning – say, around 3:00AM – watching “Romper Room” and having my mom make cinnamon toast and tea.  To this day if I feel down, I always make myself a piece of cinnamon toast to raise my spirits.  It brings me back to a childhood long bygone.

2.  Peach Ice Cream – We had the most delectable sweet, summer peaches from Eastern Washington.  My mom had this old hand-cranked ice cream maker.  We made the world’s best peach ice cream for Fourth of July.  I must have been around six or seven years old, but that taste has stayed with me for a lifetime, and nothing has ever compared.  Maybe when you work so hard to make ice cream it makes it taste that much better.

3.  Raspberry Pie – My parents had a large raspberry patch and my mom would literally pick five gallon buckets of raspberries at a time.  She would make the most incredible flaky pie crust with this perfectly sweet, yet tart raspberry filling.  I love my pie cold so I would always wake up the next morning, pull the pie tin from the refrigerator, and have a slice for breakfast.  It was heaven on earth.

4.  Baked Beans and Potato Salad – I list these together because they are a harmonious concoction, one I prefer to have side-by-side on my plate.  To this day I always use my mom’s baked beans and potato salad recipes.  Whenever I make them for a get together people comment on how different, and delicious they are.  Want to know the key to the baked beans?  Brown sugar.  Key ingredients to potato salad?  Yukon gold potatoes, plenty of relish, and a heaping of lemon and dill.  I’m telling you, those are the key things people miss in potato salad – they always fill it with onions, eggs, etc., and the real star should be the potatoes.  That’s something my southern mom always understood.  Let the fresh ingredients take center stage and shine.

5.  Golden Brown Baked Chicken Skin – I know it sounds thoroughly disgusting, but as a child I couldn’t wait to have the fatty, crisp skin melt in my mouth.  Actually, I think that’s the only reason I even ate chicken as a child, my mom’s luring bribe with the crisp skin.  Who could ever say no to something so good?

6.  Cornbread Stuffing – Every year for Thanksgiving my mom would wake early, make homemade cornbread, and concoct her famous southern cornbread stuffing.  Magic moments and memories were made around a plateful of her famous stuffing.  It was a family recipe passed down through the generations, and one I always, and still do, pine for.

7.  Buttermilk Biscuits – As a young child when my mom would pull the cast iron skillet with warm buttermilk biscuits from the oven, I couldn’t wait for them to be plated.  I would instantly nibble on the outer corners, until I had the flaky, doughy center remaining.  Some people eat their Reese’s Pieces this way, yet this was how I ate my buttermilk biscuits.  Sometimes I was patient and would actually butter them or ladle jam on top.  But usually the steamy warmth of a fresh biscuit was satisfying enough.

8.  Pan Gravy – My mom always said that there’s two reasons you make pan gravy.  One is to get the little bits of meat to release from the cast iron skillet to impart a delicious flavor and texture to the gravy.  The second reason is that it cleans the cast iron.  As a child I preferred the first reason.  There was something so decadent about having those little bits of meat release their sumptuous flavor.

9.  Sour Cream – As a child I adored this tart, sour dairy product.  I was pretty much obsessed with anything involving sour cream.  I specifically remember that my parents had two albino deer that would visit their farm.  I was so utterly obsessed with souring dairy products that I named one Sour Cream and the other Buttermilk.  If that’s not dedication to dairy, I don’t know what is.

10.  Baby Yellow Potatoes – I remember once a year my mom would let us invade the potato patch early.  It was usually sometime in July, long before the potato plants died and were full-grown.  I would count down the days until my mom would let the one-plant invasion begin.  I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the baby, buttery potatoes.  I knew it meant baby carrots and baby potatoes for dinner with a dash of butter, salt, and pepper.  Nothing compares to fresh potatoes dug from your own backyard.

One response to this post.

  1. […] A Trip Down Food Memory Lane (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

