Duo of Fennel Salads

Fennel

Image via Wikipedia

A refreshment of warm Japanese Imperial Green Tea, submerged and pressed ever so gently in my French Press to allow the depth of flavors to peak, is my morning beverage of choice. I have already consumed my early morning coffee and the rush of caffeine flows steadily through my veins. It’s one thing I love about Seattle … we are caffeine junkies and not afraid to admit our weakness towards this addiction.

I am taking a day off work to bask in the warm Seattle sunshine. As I look outside I am still speculative of the weather forecaster’s prediction, though I remain optimistic and have decided to wear sandals. Even if the patter of warm summer rain lightly pelts my toes, I’ll be grateful for the opportunity to have dusted off my sandals and shown off my painted toes.

After a visit to Trader Joe’s, as my husband and I are in great need of “Salty, Sweet & Nutty Trek Mix,” I will likely stop by the nearest Starbucks and review my latest cookbook find, “The Bon Appetit Fast Easy Fresh Cookbook.” I’m not sure of the exact weight, but this hefty book boasts “1,100 quick dishes for everynight cooking,” so I’m sure you can image the size of this bulging encyclopedia. I always tote around an obscene number of post-its so I can flag interesting recipes, write notes, or perhaps jot down a culinary idea that comes to mind. There’s something intoxicating about the smell of freshly ground coffee and the hustle of a bustling coffee shop that is inspirational.

So today I leave you with a duo of fennel salads, something I find refreshing for a relaxing summer day.

For the recipe below, blood oranges have a taste like no other.  You can substitute another type of orange, say a navel orange, but you won’t get the sweetness that a blood orange imparts to this medley of flavors.  The fennel is crunchy, with a unique anise-like flavor.  Even if you don’t like black licorice, I guarantee you will enjoy fennel’s texture and taste.  The toasted walnuts add a hearty texture and a high quality extra virgin olive oil will add an almost slightly citrus-like smoothness.

Citrus Fennel Salad with Toasted Walnuts  

1 blood orange, sectioned
1 fennel bulb, thinly sliced
½ cup walnuts, lightly toasted
1-1/2 tsp. high quality extra virgin olive oil
Salt
Pepper

Over medium heat lightly roasted the walnuts and lightly chop. Layer orange sections, fennel, sprinkle with walnuts, and drizzle with olive oil. Salt and pepper to taste.

For the recipe below the crunch from the fennel, slight softness of the cucumber and tomato is a perfect trio to accompany a delicious salty, crumbled feta cheese.  To obtain the perfect bite, layer each ingredient on your fork and once the flavors burst forth on your taste buds, you will truly appreciate the simplicity, yet delicacy, of this delicious salad.

Fennel, Cucumber, Tomato, and Feta Salad

Fennel, Cucumber, Tomato Salad (sans Feta)

1 fennel bulb, thinly sliced
1 large cucumber, peeled and thinly sliced
1 large tomato, thinly sliced
½ cup feta cheese, crumbled
1-1/2 tsp. high quality extra virgin olive oil
Salt
Pepper

Layer fennel, cucumber, tomato, top with feta, and drizzle with olive oil. Salt and pepper to taste. (This recipe is also delicious served with sliced radishes.)

One response to this post.

  1. […] Duo of Fennel Salads (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

