Savory and Sweet: Fresh Ricotta, Honey, and Assorted Berries

La ricotta

Image via Wikipedia

I have a recipe for fresh ricotta cheese that is simply amazing.  I know years ago I found it online or in a magazine, but yet I don’t recall which one.  Oddly enough I have the recipe memorized.  It may be because anyone who engages me in a conversation about local, ripe seasonal berries is bound to hear my recited version of this recipe.  Usually my excitement grows to a level that I cannot contain and the conversation will go something along the lines of, “Have you ever made fresh ricotta cheese?  It’s not like bland, salty store bought cheese.  It’s light, airy, and positively heavenly.  If you combine the ricotta with fresh berries and a drizzle of local honey,” my eyes continually grow wide with anticipation as I build up to the finale, “you’ll have a sensuous, sinfully, indulgent dessert.”  People usually look at me quizzically and exclaim, “A dessert?!  But ricotta goes in … lasagna!”  Well, if you are adventurous enough to take the journey with me into the soul of airy, citrus glory, I’m sure you will agree with me.

As a bonus, this recipe is an fantastic science experiment to explore with children.  I guarantee they’ll be fascinated and gleeful as they witness the milk mixture curdle once you add the lemon juice.  I’ve made this recipe a countless number of times, and my excitement when I see the mixture curdle, still tickles me today.

Fresh Ricotta Cheese

½ gallon whole milk
1 cup heavy cream
½ tsp. kosher salt
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Line a fine mesh sieve with cheesecake and place over a large bowl.

Bring first three ingredients to a steady boil (but don’t let milk boil over) over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally.  Add lemon juice juice and gently stir as mixture begins to curdle.  Stir for approximately 4 minutes.  Drain mixture over sieve and let sit for an hour.  Refrigerate for up to three days.

This fresh cheese is delicious served with a drizzle of honey topped with a mixture of fresh berries.  It is best served as a dessert fresh, the same day it is made.  If you keep it in the refrigerator for more than a day, I find it is delicious on pizza or with pasta dishes.

One response to this post.

  1. […] Photographer Will Travel … « Savory and Sweet: Fresh Ricotta, Honey, and Assorted Berries […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

