Spaghetti Squash and Turkey Meatballs

Weekends for me probably aren’t your standard definition of relaxation.  As the weekend approaches my anticipation grows, and not just because I get a break from work.  Most Fridays my husband and I have our date night.  We go out to a local restaurant and comment quietly between ourselves what we think of the menu, our meals, the flavors, all the while attempting to predict what Gordon Ramsey‘s comments would be if he were dining with us.

I usually spend the weekends working in our yard, provided we’re not experiencing a Pacific Northwest rain cloud filled day.  There is something therapeutic about weeding, mowing, and pruning that provides such a sense of satisfaction.  I love looking at our yard and knowing that it looks maintained because I put effort into it.  We live on acreage on Whidbey Island.  We have a craftsman-style home and we’ve kept most of our property wooded.  I love having privacy and it gives our pups and kitties room to safely roam.  The portion of the yard we did carve out looks natural, not like a manicured golf course.  We planted mostly native plants, which are thriving in our climate.  We have a beautiful shade garden.  For the vine plants I made my own trellises.  Some of our alders were becoming a bit unwieldy so I pruned the branches and wove them together in triangular shaped fashion.  I think it keeps with our natural, yet maintained theme.

I love this time of year.  We’ve had a bit of an extended rainy season so it has somewhat affected planting our garden.  Instead of sowing our herbs in May, I was forced to wait until a couple weeks ago.  I am always so excited when I go outside and see little seedlings breaking through the surface of the rich soil.

For some reason this weekend I was reminded of the first time my mom made spaghetti squash.  My brother and I were amazed how a squash could be “raked” into such perfect noodle strands.  Something about working outside in the soil reminds me of our garden when I was a child, which in turn reminds me of how my mom would make food a fun event.  Spaghetti squash is one of those very foods.  So as an adult I experimented with a play on spaghetti and meatballs.  I think this is a dish that both adults and children alike will enjoy.

Spaghetti Squash and Turkey Meatballs

1 Large Spaghetti Squash, cut in half, seeds removed

1 lb. Turkey Italian Sausage, casings removed (Hot or Mild)

1/3 lb. Ground Turkey

¾ c. Italian Breads Crumbs

1 Diced Sautéed Onion

1 c. Parmesan Cheese

2 tbsp. Butter

Olive Oil

Cut spaghetti squash in half, remove seeds.  Wet a paper towel and place it in the bottom of a casserole dish.  Place the spaghetti squash face down.  Place in microwave on high for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix sausage, turkey, bread crumbs, and sautéed onion.  Form mixture into 1 inch balls.  Drizzle olive oil in a hot pan over medium heat.  Place meatballs in hot oil and cook each side (top and bottom) for 3 minutes.  Then cover for another 6 minutes (medium low heat) and allow them to fully cook.

When spaghetti squash is done in microwave, remove.  Using a fork, “rake” the squash and it should come out in strands.  Place this in another casserole dish.  Toss the squash with salt, pepper, butter, and olive oil.  Remove meatballs from heat, distribute on top of spaghetti squash and sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

Place in oven for 7 minutes to broil.

Leave a Reply

