Memoirs of Japan

Fushimi-Inari Shrine, Kyoto

I was once lost, but Japan saved me.  My visit to Japan in the fall breathed new life into me again and my tired, weak spirit grew stronger.  I fell in love with the Japanese culture and people.  After nearly a decade’s absence from writing, visiting Japan inspired me to begin writing again, and a new vitality surged through my veins.  It was as though Japan helped me reclaim my spirit and find the path that was intended to be my destiny.

While I was in Japan, I absorbed the very essence of the Japanese culture, as though the very core of my spirit was permeable, seeking to absorb the breath – the very life – that Japan offered.  I was fascinated by the customs and how different they are from anything I have ever experienced in America.  Being a petite, curly, blond-haired, green-eyed young woman in a sea of Japanese brunettes gave me a new appreciation for life.  It gave me insight into what it feels like to be a minority in a strange land, something I had never contemplated experiencing in America.  For that experience I am forever grateful.  I returned home with a new zest and perceptive appreciation for life.

I added a separate page to my blog entitled “Japan Memoirs.”  I hope that you visit my page and read my journal about my experiences in Japan.  Each day I will be adding a new section, so as not to overwhelm you.

Don’t worry, I will still be adding Northwest recipes.  I just wanted to share what has inspired me so much in my life, so that perhaps I can inspire some of you too.

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] Memoirs of Japan (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  2. […] Memoirs of Japan (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  3. […] Memoirs of Japan (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  4. […] Memoirs of Japan (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

