Spot Prawns with Fennel, Mushrooms, and Tomatoes

Last night my husband and I cooked the most amazing fresh spot prawns with thinly sliced fennel, mushrooms, and tomatoes.  A friend caught the spot prawns locally in Puget Sound.  The smell of fresh seafood is invigorating – like absorbing the very aroma of the ocean.  It brings back childhood memories of beachcombing and salmon fishing.

My dad, an avid fisherman, always made sure we were educated in the art of fishing – albeit it for salmon or fly-fishing for rainbow trout.  I truly believe being a fisherman courses through my dad’s veins, and his enthusiasm when sharing his interest with others is contagious.

When I was a very young child, my dad was trying to teach me how to reel in a fishing line.  He discovered the concept was easily transferred to my loveable “Jack in the Box.”  When I was two years old, my dad took me fishing.  Being the incredible fisherman that he is, he was easily able to get a trout on the line.  He handed me the pole and explained that I needed to pretend the reel was my “Jack in the Box.”  I was delighted to see I reeled in a fish.  Of course this Kodak moment was forever captured, complete with an enormous, awe-struck grin on my face.  My love of fishing came from my dad, and it’s something I am so thankful he shared with me.

If you have never prepared fresh prawns, make sure you de-shell and de-vein them.  You can butterfly them down the back and remove the vein with the tip of your knife. (This website has detailed pictures and step-by-step instructions http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/how_to_peel_and_devein_shrimp/)

Spot Prawns with Fennel, Mushrooms, and Tomatoes

3 cups spot prawns, de-shelled and de-veined

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

¾ cup fennel, thinly sliced

2 cups crimini mushrooms, quartered

½ cup Pinot Grigio

2 tablespoons fresh garlic, diced

¾ cup tomato, diced

2 tablespoons parsley, chopped

1 tablespoon lemon juice

salt

pepper

1 tablespoon chili flakes

Carefully wash shrimp under cold water.  Pat dry and season with salt, pepper, and chili flakes.

In a large sauté pan over medium heat add about 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil.  Add the fennel and sauté until softened, and slightly golden.  Add mushrooms (and if necessary 1 tablespoon additional oil).  When the liquid from the mushrooms has cooked off, approximately 5 minutes, add the Pinot Grigio.  Cook until liquid evaporates.  Add garlic and tomato.  Once tomato has softened, add shrimp.  Cook until shrimp slightly curl and they just become opaque.  Add parsley, lemon juice, cook for approximately one additional minute, remove from heat, and serve.

One response to this post.

  1. […] Spot Prawns with Fennel, Mushrooms, and Tomatoes (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

