Introduction to Cow Tales By a CowGirl Cook …

Life is an unexpected journey through time.  People typically have two choices.  They can either shatter the societal mold they’re born into, or they can become consumed by the lemming-like lifestyle that we Americans have become so accustomed to.  I for one believe in being an individual.  My life, my rules, my blog.

You’re probably wondering who I am and why I am writing this blog.  First, I love food.  I consider traveling not to be just about seeing the beautiful sites of a city or an area, but about the food that area represents.  The taste of a culture is the very essence – the core if you will – of a civilization.  One heavenly bite of tuna belly can soar you over the mighty Pacific Ocean to Japan‘s Tsukiji Fish Market.  One buttery morsel of gouda transports you to the rural regions of the Netherlands.  Food is the spice of life.  I for one, love a very spicy life.

I was raised on a small farm.  I love cows.  Not just eating cows either – because I do in fact thoroughly enjoy a good, mature dry-aged steak – but those spring memories of baby calves running through the fields with their little crooked arched monkey tails.  I remember our garden.  Fresh raspberries, strawberries, green beans, sugar peas, baby carrots, potatoes, cinderella pumpkins, and dozens of various salad greens.   The organic produce tasted so ripe, fresh, and full of flavor.  The strawberries consumed your taste-buds with a concentrated juiciness that made you feel alive.  Awe, those were fond memories.   Today I have to settle for strawberries in the grocery store.  They are bland and tasteless in comparison to the berries I had as a child.  Why can’t our society revel in the taste of food as we once did when farms were in abundance and produce tasted as it was meant to taste – fresh and alive – not wilted and tired from the average 1400 mile journey to our plate?

Life should be about simplicity.

Which brings me back to my blog.  I love food so naturally I lean towards experimenting with new flavors and cuisines.  My goal is to write reviews on recipes, share some of the recipes I’ve spent years refining, and also comment on ingredients and products in various grocery stores.  To be blunt … which brands and/or ingredients are good, bad, or just plain ugly.

Add a little spice to your life and join me on my culinary journey.

7 responses to this post.

  1. […] Introduction to Cow Tales By a CowGirl Cook … (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  2. I like your attitude and I like your work. Do you mind if I add your links to appropriate sites of mine? Thanks.

    Reply

    • May I inquire what the subjects of the sites are? Do they appeal to family memories, recipes, etc.? If so then absolutely, yes, I would greatly appreciate you adding my link to your sites. I also have another site, “Photographer Will Travel,” http://photographerwilltravel.wordpress.com. It’s sort of the strictly visual aspect of my journeys. This site contains my writings. Thank you and have a great day.

      Reply

      • Thanks for the reply. I have decided to blog at Blogger, and am changing some of my posts to there, and am writing several more..It seems as if I can’t look or read anything without wanting to blog it. One of my reasons for the change is because I seem to more easily work out the problems with Blogger. Another is that I wish to advertise my online used book store. For curiosity you might look at http://www.coastal-collections.com and

      • Your site looks pretty interesting. I’ve forwarded it along to my mom as she loves unique books. I feel the same way about blogging. Writing has always been my passion and blogging has given me an outlet.

        If you’re ever out on the West Coast, since you enjoy used and rare books, Portland boasts an amazing used bookstore with a special rare books section. You can even check out their website online – Powell’s Bookstore (http://www.powells.com/).

        Have a wonderful 4th of July weekend.

  3. […] Introduction to Cow Tales By a CowGirl Cook … (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  4. […] Introduction to Cow Tales By a CowGirl Cook … (cowtalesbyacowgirlcook.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

